Special Education

Special Education Director                                                     Special Education Secretary

Suzanne Harris                                                                       Connie Rinell   

503-861-3376                                                                        503-861-3376

harriss@warrentonk12.org                                                    rinellc@warrentonk12.org


The Warrenton-Hammond School District Special Education Program strives to support all students and their families who meet the special education eligibility requirements of IDEA. The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a federal special education law that requires school districts to provide a free appropriate public education to eligible children with disabilities. A free appropriate education means special education and related services, described in an Individualized Education Plan (IEP), and provided to children in the least restrictive environment. More information can be obtained from your child's teacher, the building special education teacher, or your principal. You may also call the WHSD Student Services Department at (503) 861-3376 for additional information.


 

Special education services are provided for students meeting IDEA eligibility criteria in the following areas:

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD-82)
  • Communication Disorder (CD-50)
  • Deaf/Blindness (DB-43)
  • Emotionally Disturbed (ED-60)
  • Hearing Impaired (HI-20)
  • Intellectual Disability (ID-10)
  • Orthopedic Impairment (OI-70)
  • Other Health Impairment (OHI-80)
  • Specific Learning Disability (SLD-90)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI-74)
  • Vision Impairment (VI-40)

 

 

Restraint and Seclusion Report

OAR 581-021-0559 mandates that school districts report annually on restraint and seclusion use. Here is a link to our report for the 2015-2016 School Year

WHSD Board Policy JGAB JGAB-AR

CHILD FIND

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) requires that school districts provide a free and appropriate education to all disabled children and young adults from birth through 21 years of age. The Warrenton-Hammond School District requests assistance with the identification of any disabled children ages 0 through 21, who are not enrolled or currently being served in one of the District's schools. If you know of any disabled children ages 0 through 21, who are not receiving education services, please call the WHSD Special Education Department at 503-861-3376.

 

Parental Rights - Procedural Safeguards 

(multiple languages available)

Warrenton Grade School Special Education Staff

Special Education Teacher  K-4 Colleen Bennett bennettc@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 

K-4 Social Competency 

Justine Marxer marxerj@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 5-6 Miranda Rempfer rempferm@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 7-8 Rachel Wyatt wyattr@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher  K-8 Behavior Support Consortium Classroom  Jenna Allen allenj@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher K-8 Special Needs Consortium Classroom  Don Roddy roddyd@warrentonk12.org
       

Warrenton High School Special Education Staff

Special Education Teacher 9-10 Mallory Rettig rettigm@warrentonk12.org
Special Education Teacher 11-12 Kathleen Adams adamsk@warrentonk12.org
Specialists
Occupational Thereapist   Amy Miles

amiles@nwresd.k12.or.us

Speech-Language Pathologist   Paulette Rubio

rubiop@warrentonk12.org

School Psychologist   Emily Creel

creele@warrentonk12.org

School Nurse   Jackie Welborn

welbornj@warrentonk12.org

Speech-Language Assistant   Anji Moon

amoon@nwresd.k12.or.us

Speech-Language Assistant   Cynthia Jones cjones@nwresd.k12.or.us

 

Additional Resources: 

Oregon Department of Education

Northwest Regional Education Service District  

State SPED Report Cards

Diploma Options (1) (2)